Chandas or Meter & Shloka Count

Sri Teekacharya says we must always know the meter and the inner meaning of all the shastras, else it will not frutify.

Each shloka of Nakha Stuti has a different chandas/ meter

Nakha Stuti

1) Pantasvmaan –  shArdula-vikrIDita – 19 letters per sentence ( couplet – 2 sentences in shloka – 19-19)

Shaardula – Lion

Vikreedanaa – Play

Narasimha stotra in Shaardula Vikreeda – how appropriate !!!

2) Laksmikanta – 21-21 Sragdhara

Srag – garland or mala

dhara – to wear

Lakshmi Narasimha wore hiranyakashipu’s intestines as a garland.

Hari Vayu Stuti

Sragdhara – 21 letters – a break after every 7 letters 7-7-7

Sragdhara means mala thread

The meter contains 84 letters in 4 lines (21 letters / line). A pause/break is taken/given after every 7 letters (3/line)

((7*3)*4) = 84

The Vayu Stuti was first composed in Sragdhara meter by Sri Trivikrama Pandiatacharya.

SriMadacharya later on added Sri LaxmiNarasimha Nakha Stuti in the beginning and the end of Sri Vayu Stuti, thereby creating a samputa (a protective covering) around Sri Vayu Stuti.

The meter of the first shloka of Nakha Stuti, describes the play of Sri LaxmiNarasimha and the meter of the next shloka; the garland (mala ) of intestines of Hiranyakashipu around Sri LakshmiNarasimha’s neck.

SriMadacharya has brilliantly brought the context of the meter back in to prominance extempore. This attention to detail, not just the words; but to ensure that even the meter is matching and appropriate is truly examplery. Therefore “Acharya, SriMadAcharya santume janma janmani !!!”

Vayu Stuti contains Yugma shlokas, Yugma shloka – kriya pada (action words or verbs) used for multiple words

Shloka count


Most shloka counts add up to 9 in ascending order

Ex. ashtotra nama – 108 numerlogically 1+0+8=9

sahasra nama – 1008 numerlogically 1+0+0+8=9

VayuStuti by itself is 41 shlokas with the addition of Nakhastuti 2 sholkas before and after

the total recitation comes up to 2+41+2=45 which is 45 numerlogically 4+5=9 !!!


Jai Bharateesha,




  1. Dear Sri Hrishikesh

    It was just yesterday evening that I was listening to Bannanje Acharya’s Isavasya Upanishad pravachana and came across this discussion. What a genius our Acharya is that he embeds the meaning of the Nakha Stuti in the very Chandas that the stuti is made up of? Good to know you are in the UK. I too live in Manchester.

    Mohan Suswaram

    Comment by Mohan Suswaram — April 10, 2011 @ 12:06 pm | Reply

    • Namaste Mohan,

      I think I have heard the pravachana you are talking about.

      “Acharya, SriMadAcharya santume janma janmani !!!” is all I can say !!! Sri MadAcharya is the very fabric of perfection; Right from the dna level to micro level to the macro level.

      I think we met at the MYP UK, Madhwanavami celebrations just before leaving.

      Jai Bharateesha,

      Comment by hrishikesh — April 10, 2011 @ 5:23 pm | Reply

  2. Respected Sir,
    The first half of the sloka pantwasman is in sardoolavikridita and the secuond half is in sragdhara vritta.

    Comment by R.Venkataramana Rao — March 31, 2013 @ 3:06 pm | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: